UE Officers

General President Carl Rosen has been a member of UE since 1984 when he joined UE Local 190 in Chicago upon being hired at Kerr Glass. He worked at Kerr for 10 years as a maintenance electrician and served in various positions for the local including steward, publicity and education director, chief steward, bargaining committee member and president. In 1994, Rosen was elected as UE District 11 president and when District 11 was succeeded by the Western Region in 2006, he was elected as regional president. Rosen was elected General President in 2019.

Secretary-Treasurer Andrew Dinkelaker joined UE in the 1990s as a member of Local 223, and became a field organizer in 1997. Prior to his 2011 election as a national officer, Dinkelaker was president of the UE Eastern Region and before that, District 6. As secretary-treasurer he’s worked hard to complete the progress of bringing the UE budget into balance so that the union has the financial stability to continue its great work long into the future.

Director of Organization Mark Meinster joined UE in 1997 as a field organizer in New England, where he helped 350 service and maintenance workers at the University of Vermont organize UE Local 267. He worked organizing new locals, bargaining contracts, and running strikes in New England and then in the Midwest, where he assisted UE Local 1110 in their historic six-day plant occupation of Republic Windows and Doors in 2008. He helped launch Warehouse Workers for Justice in 2008, and since 2018 has led a UE organizing team that has won NLRB elections covering over 2000 workers across 15 states. He was elected Director of Organization in 2021.